Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016….

PITY PARTY TRACK 5 – JUST SAY YOU LOVE ME Hue & Cry

Leave a comment

I meant to put this up on Valentines Day, more from a perfect timing point of view than to represent my feelings in any way that day, as for the most part, I’m wigged out on meds and don’t feel that much at all.
Because I’m such a guarded (OK terrified), proud, self-protecting shrew, I would rather die than say anything like this to any man nowadays, but that’s probably why I’m alone. Fortune favours the brave…
This song is by Hue & Cry, and whilst I’m not your average sentimental rom-com, Dirty Dancing/Love Actually loving girl <shudders>, I recognise and appreciate when a song is the result of true feelings and not cobbled together to please a target market, hit a deadline or fill an album. The lyrics are beautiful, heartfelt and I hope whoever she was, she loved him back in the end.
Hue & Cry are a hugely underrated band who were at their height in the 80’s, but still tour to this day and do a wonderful version of Paulo Nutini’s ‘Last Request’ which you can find here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UYkaWtsFRQ
This was sent to me by my first love a decade after we’d split, and he was probably the only man I’d ever pleaded to stay. And he did ☺ but we were very young, people change and eventually, inevitably we parted, but I’ll never forget the way he made me feel.
Happy belated Valentines Day and to you G wherever you are x….

Leave a Reply

