Phoenix Fights

Fighting the FEAR, depression and BDP on a daily basis AND making my own bread. Bring it on 2016….

VANILLA, ALMOND & SANDALWOOD BODY BUTTER RECIPE

Leave a comment

This weekend was for the most part a bit of a write off as I had a big downer, but I’m pleased to announce that I managed to get out and get my ass twice around the park this afternoon! 🙂

But before that, I decided to make my first attempt at making my own body butter.

There are some great websites and blogs to tap into for recipes/formulas, and I decided to use this one as a benchmark.

http://ourlittlegreendot.com/homemade-body-butter-recipe/

I then tailored the recipe in my attempt to capture the aroma and yumminess of the ‘Precious’.

Image

Laura Mercier Almond Coconut Milk Soufflé Body Crème ❤

This is probably my favourite body lotion in the entire world, and whilst it smells of coconut and almond, it also smells of vanilla, and kind of creamy, milky and custardy, and it’s just, well, luscious.

It isn’t cheap however, so I don’t use it every day, but decided to have a crack at making my own version.  Ambitious I know!

So using my cup measures, I decided to only make a small amount until I cracked the formula.

The basic measurements are 75% solid oil, to 25% liquid oil.

So I melted half a cup of solid coconut oil a half a cup of coconut oil in a pyrex dish over a pan of hot, simmering water along with less than half a cup of almond oil.

Image

Once this is liquid, I added about 10 drops of pure vanilla essential oil and had a sniff.

Hmm.  The coconut smell still seemed to dominate.

To give it a bit more warmth, I added 10 drops of sandalwood essential oil and five more of vanilla.

You’re then meant to put it in the freezer for 20 minutes so that it is slushy but not set, but i forgot that I had only made half the formula and it came out like this.

Image

So it kind of looks like the stuff left in the roasting tray after you’ve taken out the goose fat roast potatoes (mmmm, potatoes….) but was too hard to whisk, so I put it in the microwave a couple of times for 20 seconds a time until it looked like this.

Image

Then using an electric whisk, I beat it for about 5-10 mins so it looks like a bit like uncooked meringue (mmm, meringue….).

Image

I then scooped it into a Kilner jar and put it in the fridge, but it does actually stay firm at room temperature.

Image

And it smells amazing!  Not really like the Precious, but lovely all the same!

And like the lady says, it feels a bit oily when you put it on, but my skin slurps it up in a minute or so.  If however it’s too oily for you, you could apply it to wet skin as you would baby oil, and that way you’ll make it last twice as long.

And unlike baby oil, this stuff is pure and natural and free from harsh chemicals, and cheap to boot, which has to be worth a bit of whipping in the kitchen!

Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

